Since the 16th century Catholic piety has assigned entire months to special devotions. Those given below are the more common ones.

~January~ The Holy Name of Jesus

~February~ The Holy Family

~March~ Saint Joseph

~April~ The Blessed Sacrament

~May~ The Blessed Virgin Mary

~June~ The Sacred Heart

~July~ The Precious Blood

~August~ The Immaculate Heart of Mary

~September~ Our Lady of Sorrows

~October~ The Holy Rosary

~November~ The Holy Souls in Purgartory

~December~ The Immaculate Conception

It should be noted that in most cases, the monthly devotions were occasioned by and centered around particular feasts in the Church calendar (e.g., the feast of the Holy Name of Jesus, Sunday between the Circumcision and the Epiphany, or, January 2; the feast of the Most Precious Blood of our Lord, July 1; the feast of the most Holy Rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary, October 7).